Virtual Prototyping with Google Sketchup

Virtual prototyping is the creation of a paper or graphic illustration to show and tell others about your ideas. This is useful because it brings ideas to life and lets other people add to them. It’s utility ranges from consumer research to internal presentations and it’s much easier than making an actual prototype.

Google has just released Sketchup – a free tool for creating 3-D models of houses, sheds, decks, home additions, woodworking projects – even space ships. You can add details, textures and glass to your models, design with dimensional accuracy, and place your finished models in Google Earth, share them with others by posting them to the 3D Warehouse, or print hard copies.

Taj.jpg
A great compliment to Sketchup is a handy little product from Japan, “Pepakura“. This tool creates a printable, origami-like pattern from which 3D models may be translated into paper “reality”.

pepakura.jpg

I wonder if Sketchup can be linked to a 3-D printer – a device that fabricates a 3-D mockup from a CAD file fast enough and cheap enough to produce a prototype of a part simply to clarify design or functionality issues.

Related Posts

Paper Napkin Sketches

13 Comments

  1. csven said

    “I wonder if Sketchup can be linked to a 3-D printer”

    Yes. Anything 3D, including data ripped from a videostream, can be fabbed.

  2. Stunning quest there. What happened after? Take care!

  3. Post writing is also a excitement, if you be familiar with after that you can write otherwise it is
    complex to write.

  4. Howdy very cool blog!! Man .. Excellent ..
    Amazing .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also?

    I am satisfied to find a lot of useful information right here within
    the publish, we want work out extra strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.

    . . . . .

  5. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting
    videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  6. I every time spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles or reviews daily along
    with a mug of coffee.

  7. Helpful information. Lucky me I discovered your web site unintentionally, and I am stunned why this accident didn’t took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  8. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something again and aid others such as you aided me.

  9. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future
    but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  10. Hi there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then
    most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  11. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  12. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and
    do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me.

    Thanks, very nice post.

  13. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with valuable info to work on. You have
    done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Comments are closed.

